Saturday, July 6, 2013


July 6, 2013


Chicago, Illinois (JFK+50) Major League Baseball held its 1st All-Star game 80 years ago today, July 6, 1933, at Cominskey Park, here in the Windy City, pitting the best of the American vs. National League players.

The 1st All-Star game, intended to be a one-time event called 'The Game of the Century" and held in conjunction with the 1933 Chicago World's Fair, was conceived by Chicago Tribune sports editor, Arch Ward*

The managers of the 1st All-Star baseball game were CONNIE MACK** of the Philadelphia Athletics and JOHN McGRAW*** of the New York Giants.

*Arch Ward (1896-1955) is also credited with the creation of the All American Football Conference, the Golden Gloves amateur boxing tournament and the College Baseball All Star Game.

**Cornelius McGillicuddy, Sr. (1862-1956), the longest-serving manager in MLB  history, managed the Philadelphia Athletics from 1901-1950.  His teams won 9 American League pennants and 5 World Series titles.

Connie Mack began his baseball career with the Washington Nationals. The ballpark in Philadelphia was renamed Connie Mack Stadium in 1953.

                          Connie Mack in 1916
                     Bain News Service Photo

***John McGraw (1873-1934) was manager for the NY Giants from 1902-1932.  His teams won 10 National League pennants and 3 World Series championships.  

McGraw started his baseball career with the Baltimore Orioles.  His On Base Percentage ranks 3rd behind Ted Williams and Babe Ruth.  

          John McGraw and Jake Stahl
           1912 World Series Managers
             Library of Congress Image

Each of the American League All-Stars wore their own team jerseys while the National League All-Stars wore specially made uniforms with the words NATIONAL LEAGUE across the front.****

****The National League adopted the American League practice of wearing their own team uniforms the following year.  That tradition continues to this day.

The AMERICAN LEAGUE All-Stars won the game by a score of 4-2 before 47,595 fans.

The fans themselves had voted for their favorite players.  They included Babe Ruth, Lefty Grove, Joe Cronin, Jimmy Foxx and Lou Gehrig.*****

*****From 1935-1946 the managers chose their own all-star players.  In the 83 All-Star games that have been played, the National League has won 43 while the American League won 38.  There have been 2 ties. 

From 1959 to 1962, 2 All-Star games were played each season.  Today the All-Star game is played on the 2nd Tuesday of July and is sometimes called the "Midsummer Classic."

        1937 American League All-Stars
     Lou Gehrig, Joe Cronin, Bill Dickey
    Joe DiMaggio, Charles Gehringer and
                      Jimmy Foxx
         Photo by Harris and Ewing
          Library of Congress Photo

                JFK Throws Out 1st Pitch
                 1962 MLB All Star Game
                     DC Stadium, July 10
                Photo by Cecil Stoughton


This year's MLB ALL STAR GAME will be played on July 16 at CITI FIELD, home of the NY METS in Queens, New York.  The last time the Mets hosted the All Star game was in 1964.